It is often thought that the increase in Juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you think that this is the main cause of Juvenile tribe what solution can you offer to deal with this situation?

Crime among the youth population has become a severe problem in our society. There is a strong belief that adolescents get involved in illegal situations as they are influenced by the media, which broadcasts shows with excessive violent features. Although I agree that media plays a role in influencing our children and adolescents, I do not believe that this is the leading cause for the steady increase of illegal acts among these groups. For me, the main reason is socio-economic aspects, such as unequal income distribution and limited access to education. Usually, kids from low-income households have limited access to basic needs such as food, medications, and clothes. Therefore, many of them join crime organizations to overcome those barriers. In my home country, for instance, many adolescents are part of drug gangs as they need to guarantee the livelihood of their families. One could argue that they could find legal work instead of selling drugs or robbing. Conversely, companies require education degrees for numerous jobs, which is unrealistic for poor young people. Some possible solutions may be put in place to tackle numerous causes of violence in young groups. Firstly, governments could implement or expand poverty alleviating programs, such as conditional cash transfer schemes, which provide regular money transfers to low-income households. They have been implemented in several countries in Latin America and were strongly associated with lower rates of people experiencing food deprivation and better school compliance. Secondly, by improving the educational system. Not only should more schools be built in areas with higher crime rates but also create after-school courses, where pupils could learn additional skills to help them find better jobs. In a nutshell, violence in tv shows or videogame is just the tip of the iceberg. If we want to decrease the rates of violence among the youth population, our society will have to deal with much more profound problems to help them.