Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. To what extent do you agree?

Educational Institutes in the world have seen to be improving with new ideas over the years. Considering food as an essential for survival, many believe cooking skills should be inculcated in boys & girls at an early stage of education. In my opinion, it is important for children to learn to cook their own food starting at an early age. The essay will further address the reasons why these skills are beneficial. First of all, It is important for students to develop certain habits in school. Moreover, This will help them to also analyze if cooking is their area of interest and if they would like to pursue their career as a chef unlike other activities like sports where at an early stage of a career a parent or a student can identify whether they want to become a cricketer or want to persuade career in tennis or chess. Furthermore, this will also be beneficial to develop their basic culinary skills likewise for them to be independent to cook their own food while studying away from home while they pursue higher education. On the other hand, culinary methods might be considered less important from an education perspective as parents & students are more focused on developing subjects like maths and science. Also, many parents are reluctant for their child to cook considering the safety of the child while using LPG cylinders. It would be beneficial if the appropriate amount of time is divided between all subjects. For an instance, cooking classes should be conducted twice or thrice a week using electronic induction which also addresses the concern of parent & hence help in developing the culinary methods of a child. To conclude, It will benefit the future generations if they develop these habits at an early age however safety and time management should be appropriately considered by educational institutions.