Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Zoos are generally known for their recreational purpose as it has gained popularity worldwide. However, a stratum of the population opines that it should be shot down while others have a positive view of its merit to wildlife. This dissertation will examine both of these points alongside my opinion. On the one hand, there have been speculations that zoos are risky places to visit, due to the fact that some individuals have once had a dreadful experience in the past such as being harmed by these wild creatures during their visit. More so, many people do not see the fundamental need of preserving wild animals because of how mysterious they seem. For example, in an incident that occurred in a zoo in Sokoto state, Nigeria, two years ago. A wildlife rehabilitation fell asleep leaving the gate of a caged Lion unlocked. His misconduct leads to the loss of lives of nearby residents. Hence, the worthless reason for keeping these animals and the dangers humans are prone to, is a strong point variety of individuals are holding on to. On the other hand, this place of recreation has had a major impact on the animals as the rate of deforestation in the world is alarming. A lot of forest animals have been killed in the process which can lead to the extinction of these vertebrates. Generations to come may not have any idea of their existence. In addition, zoos have positively increased the life span of most animals for instance tortoises as the zoos prevent them from being attacked by predators. For example, the cable news network (CNN) broadcasted news about a bird named Willow ptarmigan which has gone extinct in most countries but only in existence in Austria. In my opinion, zoos are necessary for preserving wild animals as they help provide revenue to the society as foreigners and nationals visit this facility every day. In conclusion, although some citizenry believes zoos are dangerous and therefore should be closed down, their benefits which were expatriated in the subsequent paragraphs prove the vitality of its preservation.