Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Communicating in a foreign language can be very cumbersome. Expats encounter several problems; including social and practical issues. I completely agree with this statement as ex-pats may find it hard to adapt to the new society. One major drawback of living in a foreign country is that one needs to learn about the culture, values and social cues. Without the knowledge of the nation's language, a person is at risk of breaking the law, and doing a socially inappropriate action that might be considered normal in their country of origin. For instance, men in Germany urinate sitting down, and it is frowned upon to stand, even though this is the norm in a lot of different countries. Additionally, spoken language often differs from textbooks so an individual is likely to be alienated in his environment as there will be a communication barrier with people around him. This, in turn, can lead to depression. Another problem that can arise is of the practical type. Finding employment becomes an even more difficult process as most of the time, one of the main requirements is the ability to speak that specific language fluently. Menial jobs that require limited human interactions such as sorting might be their only resort. These jobs, however, only pay minimum wages and may not be enough to cater for their dependents. Furthermore, Expats can also be taken advantage of. They might be persuaded to sign an unknown document which can lead to great repercussions. In conclusion, in this essay, I agreed with the statement that foreign residents experience various problems due to their limited language capability.