Do children behave better when they are rewarded or punished? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Performance of students will be better if they are the border for their achievements instead of being punished. In my opinion, appreciation encourages tutees to give their best. Therefore, punishment cannot be a solution every time and in the given crumbs of this essay both the facts will be elaborated, followed by an opinioned conclusion. To commence with, rewards undoubtedly boost up one's confidence and students are of nascent minds. Getting praise over their achievements will always stimulate not only the child but also the other children to do better in their academics. To cite an example, majority of the schools organize annual prize distribution ceremonies to honour the students who achieved milestones in their overall academic year. Therefore, these kinds of award functions where a child attains appreciation in front of all the staff members, students and family will be extremely fruitful. Not only for their academic results in school, other curricular activities like sports, art competitions, debate competitions and many more rewards boost their confidence to participate and their interest in those fields as well. This will further help to bring out a kind of unique hidden talent in them. For instance, a student winning a sports match can also play at national level in the future if he is admired initially. On the other side, if a student is punished for their mistake this will create a fear in their minds if not repeat it again. Nevertheless, not in long run as harsh punishments can bring a negative impact on their minds and they can indulge into some wrong habits. To conclude, undoubted students must be appreciated by rewarding for their achievements. However, their mistakes can not be corrected by punishing them.