In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are spending more and more of their time indoors. What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could best be taken to solve it?

In recent years, children and especially teenagers have been spending all their leisure time sitting in front of a screen. When I was younger, my peers exactly like me would have been spending that time in the open air rather than being at home. One major reason for children and teenagers staying indoors is the rise of digital innovation. Every time new applications or entertainment are introduced in the tech industry, it keeps children glued to their screens. As a result, these digital activities are often more appealing than outdoor play, as they require minimal physical effort and provide instant satisfaction. Moreover, the potential pressure on students in schools provokes a lack of time to stay outdoors just because of being focused on education. Lastly, parents are concerned that their children are in urban areas alone so they restrict their indoor exercise to make sure they are safe. To overcome these issues parents and governments should take certain measures. One of these measures can be that parents should set limits on screen time and encourage children to participate in outdoor activities, such as sports or community events. Secondly, educational centres should add to their curriculum more physical activities and outdoor learning lessons. Furthermore, the government should invest in safe areas for children where they can play without concerns. In conclusion, the obsession with mobile devices is becoming more and more common among teenagers that have certain side effects. However, with the efforts of parents and governments, we can lessen the effects and adapt our children to indoor environments and activities.