In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, as a consequence of the covid pandemic, online calls have become more prominent than physical interactions. Therefore, the only best and safest way to handle work meetings in this situation is through online connections. Firstly, the conference touch points are scheduled online resulting to work from home. As a result, employees can attend from their place thus saving the time spent on transportation from their residence to the office and vice versa every day. For instance, depending on traffic, if it takes 2 - 4 hours to travel up and down, the workers can save and utilize this time efficiently and don't exhaust quickly. Additionally, from the firm's perspective, it can avoid the daily operational expenses like power, maintenance, and additional resources to run the organization physically. On Contrary, there are some detrimental factors preferring online communication over physical meetings. Socializing with colleagues is equally imperative in the working environment helping in building relationships. For example, I recently met my colleague at the office where we felt more connected to each other. Instead, the hybrid job culture could tackle all these listed problems. In conclusion, online interactions provide benefits that are proven to be time-efficient with minimal operational costs overshadowing their demerits which can be further resolved.