In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Living in a house older than 100 years is not unusual in some countries. Therefore an increasing number of house owners is interested in doing research on historical facts about the homes or buildings they live in. There are several reasons for them to do so as well as possibilities to do the research. In some countries for example, England or Scotland, buildings and houses that are hundreds of years old, are known for their ghost stories. People who live there might experience supernatural happenings. The fascination with old history is another factor that guides people to learn more about their property. Especially when it is their own family history or a house that is used over decades by a number of generations. They can find out about the development of their homes and how everything in and around the yard has changed. The easiest way to find out about historical facts is by asking their own family members. Grandparents and great-grandparents have a lot to tell about the old times. They can show pictures in which people can compare and see how the time changed their property and of course, tell stories about what happened in the past. For instance the modification of ovens to modern heaters or even damages caused by World War Two. If there is no family to ask, there is a possibility to do an investigation on the internet. If the buildings are relatively new (not more than 150 years) they might find information about it there. For more detail, especially for houses more than 200 years old they could go to the city library and have a look at the old books of the town. They should be able to even find names of people who lived in their houses before. In conclusion, it is understandable that some people want to find out about the history of their houses. Doing so and learning about the life people lived there in the past is fascinating and informative.