In some countries, the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation and discourages private vehicle ownership. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation

It is trite that in some parts of the world, governments rate public transportation as the primary mode of mobility and endeavor to make private vehicle ownership undesirable to their citizenry. This has both merits and demerits and I shall be discussing these pros and cons in this essay. To start with, the most prominent of the advantages of promoting public transportation over owning private vehicles is that it reduces greenhouse gas emmission emission from the combustion of fuel used by these automobiles and consequently reduce the air pollutants in the country. For example, the amount of pollution caused by ten persons using different cars will in every way exceed that produced by a two mass transportation vehicle. In the same vein, there will be a reduction of fossil fuel demand and use, lower demands of road maintenance and a reduction in traffic jams if the priotization of mass-transits over individual use of motors is maintained and these eventually will result in the conservation of the national economies of these countries. Furthermore, discouraging ownership of private cars will help to improve the social interaction of citizens as it might eradicate class system and reduce the disparity between the rich and poor of the society. However, private ownership of vehicles promotes individual privacy and government interferance might be frowned upon. For instance, as individualism progresses, people are desirous of having their spaces to themselves and may not find sharing road trips desirable. In addition to this, people have varying time schedules, travel plans, wants and needs that only possession of personal cars can satisfy. An example is a person who needs to be at a place at a particular time which differs completely from the schedule of the commuters' bus plying her zone thus restrictions on this might be seen as an infringement of human rights of these individuals. In conclusion, while the purpose of discouraging private vehicle ownership by governements is understood, the pros and cons of this policy as presented above should be well considered.