Some people claim that many things that children are taught at school have wasted their time. Other people argue that everything children study at school is useful at some time. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

It is argued that some of the lessons that are being taught at school are a waste of time. On the opposite, many people believe that they will be useful in the future. This essay will discuss both points of view. Many people believe that the subjects being taught at the primary or secondary level are too broad, hence not all of them will be useful in the real world when the children will work in specific areas. For example, memorizing the name and structure of a chemical compound will not be useful for a child who wants to become a diplomat. In this case, studying chemistry in high school would be considered a waste of time. On the other hand, teaching students a broad range of subjects would not only expand their knowledge but also evoke their curiosity to learn more about various things. As young children usually have still not decided on what they want to do in the future, it is important to expose them to a wide range of knowledge, so they can develop interests in a specific matter later on. For instance, a child might have English as his favourite subject in primary school and wanted to become a writer at first, but finally decided to go to medical school because he developed an interest in biology in high school. In my opinion, it is great to learn a variety of things in school, but it is important for teachers to realize their student's interests and direct them to focus on their passion instead of pushing them to get good scores in all subjects. To conclude, both points of view have their own logical reasons and it is the teacher's job to make sure that the knowledge learned would not be a waste.