Write about the following topic. Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

In modern society, violence in schools is rising and playground bullying seems to be increasing. The issue is whether or not parents should deal with this problem by teaching their children to fight back. The arguments on both sides of this debate need to be examined carefully. Many people believe that violence only breeds further violence. Evidence for this is found in research which shows that children who grow up in violent families often grow up to be violent themselves. Furthermore, some children may enjoy the power associated with violence and develop into bullies. However, there are examples of bullying being stopped as a result of victims hitting back. This shows that there are occasions when violence may help to end bullying. However, looking at the issue in the long term, there is a strong case for supporting parents who promote anti-violent behaviour. If children can learn that there are other ways of solving disagreement, then it is possible that when those children become adults they will behave similarly and try to resolve conflict through discussion and compromise rather than by force. In my view this is a powerful argument for encouraging a non-violent approach to school bullies. Another aspect of this issue is the fact that bullying occurs in school time when parents are not present. Hence, it could be argued that it is better for schools to deal with this problem by promoting anti-bullying policies and offering support to victims. Although this makes practical sense, it ignores the fundamental effect that parents can have on their children. In conclusion, despite there being circumstances when a violent response to bullying may be justified, it is my belief that teaching non-violent strategies is more productive in the long term. Also, although schools have a role to play, it is the parents who can have the most significant effect.