Some people think that parents should read stories to their children while others argue that this is no longer necessary as we have modern technology such as television and films. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Can reading be replaced by new technology such as movies and TV? This is certainly a much-debated topic and there are some who would argue that reading is no longer necessary. I would contend, however, that reading is an essential part of children's education. It is true that television and films could be used to engage students in literature and poetry which children may not have otherwise been interested in. Some of the adaptations of classic works can encourage children to pick up the book and read the literary version, I remember not being a particular fan of reading Shakespeare at school so I found that watching the film version of Romeo and Juliet helped me to understand the storyline much more clearly. This certainly does not, however, mean that adults should refrain from reading books to their children. On the contrary, it is my view that parents should actually read more. Firstly, the reading of books during childhood can develop relationships of trust and comfort as the child sits and listens to the stories. I remember thoroughly enjoying storytime with my parents and I am sure this cemented the bond we have. Secondly, reading allows children to use their imagination as well as learn new vocabulary and grammatical structures. It is shown that reading as a substitute for formal homework is just as effective. In conclusion, reading should be a critical feature of a young person's developing years. Movies and television can provide a good taste of a story but I feel that reading the book itself is much more important and parents should be encouraged to read more frequently.