Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that learners in secondary and high school should have the opportunity to choose between academic courses and practical courses leading to jobs such as carpenters. This essay agrees completely with that statement because studying useless subjects is a waste of time and also because our society mainly needs experts. It is conspicuous that students who don't aim to work in a certain sector will lose time at school if they study subjects that are related to the same area. This is because, instead of investing their precious years in learning what they will really use to be reliable workers, they are going to waste their energy studying dull and pointless subjects that won't make them better experts. Indeed, time is the most valuable resource that youngsters need to succeed. In this regard, acquiring useless knowledge for their future job is a consequential waste to them. For example, many countries such as the USA give the opportunity to students to choose their subjects when they are still in high school. Hence, there are fewer years in the curriculum to graduate than in other nations. It is also crystal clear that acquiring knowledge about some specific jobs is beneficial to having specialised and skilful citizens. In fact, it is logical to consider that the more students practice a task, the more they perform it. Furthermore, our development is in need of experts who are knowledgeable enough to avoid the slightest error in what they do. Therefore, considering that there are more than 8 billion human beings on Earth, students don't have to learn everything during their schooling. They just have to be able to master one specific topic. This is the reason why, for instance, China features the most skilful workers in the world. Each learner during his curriculum concentrates on targeted subjects. In conclusion, it is obvious that students should be allowed to choose between academic courses and practical ones at high school because of the fact that they will save time and become skilful in their jobs.