Society is becoming obsessed with material good like cars, designer clothes and jewellery. We have stopped carrying about the important things and that is why divorce rates are so high. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that people became obsessed with material goods and stopped putting effort into the significant things. This essay completely agrees with the statement. As far as I am concerned, today’s society has become increasingly materialistic and, undoubtedly, it is unhappier, due to the statement that you have to be rich in order to be joyful. To begin with, over the years, people’s perception of the world gradually changed. Naturally, they became interested in methods to produce more income, due to their preferences into cars, designer clothes and jewellery. Unfortunately, spiritual things such as health and love are not a priority for them anymore. Obviously, these preferences lead to an unhappier life and differences of life ideals in couples. Besides, it was demonstrated that, in order for a couple to function properly, the individuals need to complete each other. For instance, a study shows that the main reason of divorce rates is the similarities between couple members, mainly because both look for materialism, rather than spiritual things in life. On the other hand, it was shown that those who are constantly looking forward to purchasing the latest designer clothes and jewellery tend to negatively change their behaviour. Moreover, society blames them for being arrogant and heartless, due to their need of getting rich. Additionally, these individuals might feel alienated and the community avoids them due to the fact that they have different perceptions of life. For example, the richest people isolate themselves from society, because they feel nobody can fully understand them. In conclusion, society’s current priority is to purchase material goods, rather than cultivate spiritual things. I consider that both things should be taken into account in order to have a balanced life.