In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an increasing trend of following a vegetarian diet in some countries. This essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the drawback because it is healthy, and protect animals and will explain why the argument against the vegetarian diet, which is the lack of nutrients, is not valid. The major benefit of a vegetarian diet is that it is very healthy for the body. Vegetables have a lot of good nutrients such as vitamins and fibres that are good for the human body. Moreover, consuming animal meat and fats for a long time will lead to heart disease. For example, according to the medical book “Gray’s Anatomy”, most heart failures are due to the blockage found in the heart’s arteries and the primary substance of the blockage is trans-fat, which is also found in animal meat products. Another benefit of being vegetarian is that it will save animal lives. People argue that animals have feelings just like human beings. In other words, they feel pain when they are cut or injured. Therefore it is unethical to consume meat. The documentary, Cowspiracy, shows how animals such as chickens, cows, sheep etc are handled in the most brutal and inhumane methods to harvest their meat for mass consumption. Those who are opposed to being vegetarian suggested that they have an unbalanced diet. In other words, the diet does not have enough nutrients such as iron and vitamin B12 which are found in meat in high concentrations. However, some supplements provide the necessary amount of such nutrients that can be ingested as pills. For example, a medicine brand, Beximo, in Bangladesh has multi-vitamin pills that consist of all nutrients in required doses that can be taken daily along with a healthy vegetarian diet. In conclusion, the fact that the vegetarian diet is healthier and kinder to animals outweighs the argument that it is not a balanced diet.