Today's society is based on laws and rules. It can't function well if individuals are free to do whatever they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Regulations are made to form modern society. While some think that the freedom of individuals is fundamental and unharmful to society, I disagree with this idea and believe that this phenomenon will do more harm to how society functions. When no rules or laws are made by the government, individuals’ behaviours are out of control, and people can do whatever they want. This could lead to others might suffer from these harmful actions, and worse, the whole society. Overbuying stocks for personal gains, for example, could potentially lead to the collapse of the stock market prices ultimately downgrading the nation’s economy. This result, furthermore, could mean that the government may not have enough funds to invest in other sectors. Clearly, society cannot function well if people can freely behave without any consequences. In addition to that, with no regulations, there would be no instructions for future generations. The children growing up without any guidance will result in a chaotic society associated with an increase in juvenile delinquency. They may drop out of school at a very young age or commit petty crimes for money. As a result, the future generations, who grow up with a repressed upbringing, will potentially lose their way and cannot contribute their values to the nation. Society, in the worst scenario, could totally collapse. In conclusion, it is vital for the government to make regulations to control individual actions. Without this, the whole society cannot properly function and may step back from the present.