In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The longevity trend in many countries is increasing. Some opine that the elderly can cause some problems for the government, while others argue that they will give various benefits. I believe that the merits surpass the demerits due to the social and economic aspects. On the one hand, having more elderly can be beneficial for the government in various ways. Firstly, by all accounts, they may have more experience than younger people, thereby making them the best educators for those in need. Secondly, the elderly play a vital role, from social standing, as an advisor which young adults may follow. In my village, for instance, society often asks for advice from the older ones to confront the problems that they encounter, letting them pass on their prior knowledge to the next generation. More importantly, the more population, the higher the country's revenue from the taxpayers, contributing to economic growth. On the other hand, the existence of the old people allegedly brings myriad problems for the government. This is due to the fact that the local councils may need to allocate more money to support them, such as providing free health care. If this continues to rise, the authorities will spend a lot of money which can be used for other useful developments. To illustrate, old people are prone to be affected by serious diseases, as society's representative, authorities should give free medicine to them, spending much more money. In conclusion, although the vulnerability of the elderly may result in a higher amount of funds allocated for health care, the importance of ageing people will be always needed in society. Not only do they assist the young generation, but also contribute to the economic sector of the countries. Hence, I believe the benefits outweigh the shortcomings.