Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a  negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are conflicting views regarding school-aged children using smartphones every day. Although the underlying reasons for this phenomenon are not complicated, I am afraid that it is a retrogression of our society in the long run. In my opinion, the easy access to smartphones and short-term satisfaction that comes along should account for the fact that children nowadays are so attached to them. For people living in the last century, It would have been impossible to imagine that almost everyone can have a portable device on which they deal with everything. However, giving your children a newly-released iPhone is not worth mentioning right now, with which they can connect with friends, browse social media and keep themselves entertained. Meanwhile, software manufacturers also tend to make their apps more addictive by providing more visual stimulants and immediate incentives. Therefore, there is no wonder that children cannot resist temptation. Nonetheless, obsession with smartphones definitely has a negative influence on children themselves and our society as a whole. Scientific research has identified multiple adverse effects of smartphone usage in the underage group, ranging from delayed language development to social withdrawal and eternal brain impairment in the worst-case scenario. It is also not rare for us to witness teenagers falling for online fraud as they have not acquired full judgement and sufficient life experience. In the larger scheme, more social problems are likely to appear or worsen if children cannot achieve necessary in-person social skills and a well-round development, including communication difficulties and juvenile crimes. In summary, I think it is worth more attention from all walks of life how smartphones change our society by affecting the next generation in an unwanted way.