Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental change and its related problems are undoubtedly one of the most imperative challenges we are facing. While some claim the leading issue being caused is the extinction of certain species, others reckon that something more serious is going on. Personally, I agree with the latter. Due to climate change and the expansion of human society, many plants and animals are endangered, if not extinct, for losing their natural habitats or essential living conditions. In fact, scientists have warned us that the biological diversity on earth is decreasing at an alarming speed, which is irreversible and will threaten the stability of the ecosystem. Once a certain species lose its ability to breed, rarely there could be any method to overturn it. Moreover, that will break the biological chain and affect its predators and prey, leading to a vicious circle when the resilience of nature will be weakened in the end. Therefore, more emphasis should be placed on protecting the ecosystem we rely on. However, at the same time, some argue that other concerns like global warming should be addressed primarily as that is the root of the problem, and species cannot be protected without a suitable climate. Meanwhile, in recent years we have already witnessed extreme weather incidents that cost invaluable loss worldwide, indicating the severity and urgency. Notably, it has been proved that climate change has worsened the situation of many vulnerable species, which makes it almost impossible to save them without solving the underlying issue. Therefore, in my own opinion, global warming is a priority task that the world needs to deal with immediately. Otherwise, our living environment will continue to deteriorate, and other species will suffer with us together.