Some people say that the best way to improving public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. Others, however; say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The construction of a higher number of fitness facilities has been proposed by some as the most effective way of bettering public health. Others argue that the overall effect is minimal and alternate methods are needed. In my opinion, Although sport is a great activity that is very beneficial to one's overall health, the role of other factors should not be neglected. People that support the effectiveness of introducing more sporting facilities like gyms, basketball and football courts believe that it is the most beneficial way to be healthy. Sports are forms of physical activity and they help people build muscle and lose fat. They also help mental health as serotonin, called the happy chemical in our brain is produced during a workout. Studies have shown that gym-goers on average are happier than people that do not exercise. For these reasons, active people tend to be more fulfilled and healthy. However, other proper conditions for good health should be maintained in order to prevent disease. These conditions include maintenance of a balanced diet and adequate rest which leads to a low-stress level. Stress is known as the main aetiology of most illnesses and anyone with a high level is likely to be faced with a wide range of medical problems, the most prevalent being hypertension and without treatment, can result in the formation of aneurysms which may rupture and cause fatal consequences. Therefore, people should work on reducing any activity that causes stress. To conclude, exercise coupled with good eating and sleeping habits contribute the most to public health.