Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Recently, large companies spend huge budgets on marketing and promotion to engage more customers. Affected by the advertisement, people tend to be aware of the brand and unconsciously trust the product quality. As a result of this massive promotion, somehow it kills the local brand which has less budget for marketing. This article will discuss some critical reasons for this problem and give some insights to encourage more customers to buy local products. In the case of marketing, advertising becomes easier as a result of the improvement of social media. Although it comes with an enormous amount of cost, advertising through social media brings more impact to building customers ' brand awareness. Consequently, the public will acknowledge the brand and unconsciously trust its quality. For instance, the big corporation usually produces their products more than the local company which will affect the selling price to become cheaper than the local one. Thus, people will have no doubt to spend their salary on the products from big companies. On another hand, local product has less chance to advertise as well as the big brands. There are some options that local brands can do to engage more customers. For example, being consistent with their quality will bring more benefits since mass-producing by big companies will affect the inconsistent quality of the products. Another way, they can build an official account such as Instagram to promote their brand and build their brand awareness. In conclusion, spending huge budgets on advertisements can engage more people to buy products from large businesses and hide the local brands from the markets. Local brands can tackle this problem by being consistent with their product quality and do self promote.