Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has never been easier for a highly-trained individual to decide where to practice than now. However, people hold conflicting opinions about it. While some believe it is unfair to leave the region where one receives the training, others consider it a personal choice which should not be restricted. Some reasons can support the idea why competent people, like doctors and engineers, should practice in their home country. Firstly, it usually costs a lot to train an eligible candidate into a professional regarding money and time, all of which will be a waste for the government if they decide to serve in another country. Secondly, the general trend of the talent movement is always from developing countries to developed ones, which, undoubtedly, will aggravate the disparity. For example, the United States and the United Kingdom absorb thousands of doctors annually worldwide, mostly from Asian and African countries, for higher salaries and more opportunities. However, that will lead to a vicious cycle as third -world countries will encounter more problems due to the outflow of talent. Therefore, professionals should consider the best interest of their country and stay. Nonetheless, advocates, including myself, always believe that one has the freedom to migrate as one wishes. Although government sponsors the training, doctors and engineers are working and creating value for the government at the same time. Moreover, individuals are not responsible for invigorating a country. It is reasonable for them to make decisions based on personal interests, either for better career prospects or work-life balance. In addition, they can pay back to their home country by learning experiences from advanced areas and bringing them back home. In conclusion, I think that it is a blessing for people from all over the world to move freely and one should always be allowed to choose their workplace if they can.