Some people think that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement.

Individuals who commit offences that violate the law are often labelled as antisocial. Some are of the opinion that once someone breaks the law, they will always be a criminal. I, on the other hand, do not agree with this statement for the following reasons. To begin with, there are certain forms of crime which are committed due to circumstances such as poverty. Poverty may often force an individual to commit a felony. For example, if he cannot feed himself and has been hungry for several days, they may try to steal. In this example, the crime has nothing to do with the personality of the individual who committed the act, but rather everything to do with the situation he/she was in. If this person was well-off, he may have never committed such an act. This is why it is important to look at other reasons that may push someone to break the law. Secondly, humans are not static creatures. We are continually evolving and as we grow our personalities change too. Putting a label on a human being is certainly an injustice. For example, if a teenager is prosecuted after being caught fighting. It is possible, that he may reflect on what he did and vow to never fight again. He may grow old and never cause another altercation. The question is if he fought once, does it make him a fighter for the rest of his life? The answer is no, everyone makes mistakes. The important thing is to identify the error and correct it. To conclude, I do not agree with the statement above. Factors such as circumstance and the fact that humans have evolving personalities must be considered.