With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays, few individuals view increase in online books and a decrease in offline books as a great leap, however others have contrary opinion. This essay will discuss the merits and the demerits of this trend. Availability and flexibility of e- books is one of the great advantages it has over paper books. A lot of magazines and journals are easy to come by on the internet, where you can read, save and also share them to others at once, in different locations with low cost. For instance, last year my colleague at work told us about an article, within few minutes she shared it with everyone at the same time, which wouldn't have been possible with hard copy books. However, danger of ultra-violent light rays associated with usage of computer is a major disadvantages. Ultra-violent light rays is a bad ray of light which damages vision and causes irritation to eyes when exposed to it over a long time, online books will make a lot of people use systems and phones exposing them and destroying their lenses leading to frequent visit to see an Ophthalmologist and usage of eye glasses or a contact lens. A typical example happened when I read project works on my tablet or system, I develop headache and tearing eyes. To quite a few individual it is a turn off Join the words turn-off turnoff show examples, they would prefer not to read at all. In conclusion, though there is a growth in soft copy booklet over hard copy as a result of it's accessibility and cost effectiveness which is a great achievement to some, others do not see it this way, because of the discomfort it usually bring. From the benefits and drawbacks discussed in this essay I will recommend that, government should ensure varieties of hard copy books in Public libraries.