Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of city and towns, while others say housing facilities should be built instead. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a controversy about whether the vacant areas of cities and towns should be left for trees or other housing facilities. I think planting trees is of utmost importance, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Trees can absorb co2 and release oxygen. Take cities as an example. As we know, cities are constantly populous; they have all sorts of vehicles and factories which produce countless carbon dioxide every day. As a result of snorting a large amount of carbon dioxide daily, the residents will suffer from some illnesses, such as headaches and high blood pressure. At this point, trees can alleviate the situation to a large extent. Trees can absorb carbon dioxide through photosynthesis and generate oxygen. Thanks to the contribution of trees, we can live in a relatively healthy environment. Second, trees can adjust the temperature in the cities. It's commonplace that cities are repleted with skyscrapers, which are covered with glasses. In summer, those glasses absorb the sunlight and reflect it to somewhere in the city. As a consequence, it is easy to raise the temperature in cities and cause fires. On the contrary, trees can block the sunlight and evaporate the water vapours which they absorb from the roots to decrease the temperature. Third, trees can lessen the sound noise in the cities. Due to the global population increase, more people tend to live in cities. As a by-product, the number of vehicles and factories will rise, and the city will become extremely noisy. At this point, trees can use their leaves and underfur to dampen the sound. In conclusion, I think it's necessary to have some trees in cities.