Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

In the past decades, regular physical activities have been considered a key strategy for the elderly population to achieve a good health status. However, despite that several doctors endorse this approach, many aged groups do not follow it. There are a couple of reasons why ancient people do not regularly practice exercise. Firstly, it is very difficult to change behaviours, particularly in the later years of our life. For instance, if people have spent a lifetime being sedentary, it is unlikely that they will change because of a doctor's recommendation. Simply, because their mind and body do not recognize this as an important goal. Indeed, several studies have been published on this topic, and they showed that ancients who practice sports are those who had practised during their youth. Secondly, not all neighbourhoods have facilities where individuals can exercise, and when they do have them, they are more focused on younger groups. Although it is challenging to change behaviours, there are several actions that could be put in place to tackle the lower rates of ancients practising physical activities. To commence with, more population-level commercials focusing on this specific group should be created, as people tend to follow role models. Perhaps, if they watched advertisements showing their peers exercising, it would be enough to influence them to start the same. Furthermore, not only new sports facilities should be created across cities, but also instructors should be available to help the aged community with their specific needs. In a nutshell, there are numerous valid explanations for why the aged population do not exercise. However, as there are many benefits of being physically active, under no circumstance, should we give up on having those groups working out.