Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Transgression is a pervasive problem around the world. Although some people believe that extended punishments are the key to reducing illegal activities, there are others who, think that there are superior substitutes. In this essay, I will discuss both views before taking a stand. Many people think that incarcerating criminals for a prolonged period of time will instil fear and makes them less likely to commit an offence. Advocates of this view argue that it will not only keep violence off the streets but also give the offenders a term to think about their misdeeds which will make them good Samaritans after entering society. For example, countries such as China and Qatar have harsher penalties such as more life behind bars for theft and robbery; as a result, the unlawful activity rate is low compared with the other countries. On the other hand, some are convinced that there are better replacements for longer imprisonment. Treatment of underlying issues is one of them. In other words, providing addiction rehabilitation in prison or in the community will reduce the risk of re-offending. Apart from therapy, educating the delinquent and providing job-hunt assistance after entering society will improve the former criminal prospects. Let us take an example of Colombia where the rate of criminals getting re-arrested is at a staggering 60 per cent and most of them are illiterate, furthermore, this makes it clear that providing proper education Is more significant than prolonged jail life. In conclusion, the reasons behind the crime are complex, however, I am of the opinion that rather than expanding prison sentences, providing them with greater intervention initiatives such as teaching and training will reduce the risk of a person committing an unlawful act.