Today, people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on pp’s lives? To you agree or disagree

In these days and ages, while some say that being surrounded by advertisements not only has a detrimental effect on people ’s lives but also impacts human beings’ thoughts, I would like to argue my balanced perspective in this essay. On the one hand, advertising is one of the main causes of overconsumption among individuals. In other words, promoting products usually employs seductive elements in content and persuasive techniques to manipulate emotions and desires, resulting in a sense of dissatisfaction and the constant need for more. As a result, if people keep buying, they will be stuck in financial strain. In addition, advertisement also has a detrimental effect on people ’s security, especially for youngsters who are prone to be insecure because of their appearance. It means that promotion usually shows idealized and often unrealistic beauty standards, leading to body image issues, consequently, creating low self-esteem which contributes to a negative impact on well-being. On the other hand, adverts have positive impacts. Advertising is considered the most effective way to assist brands in raising awareness when launching new products, leading to an increase in sales volume attributed as a factor of business development. Besides, adverts are also used as a tool to deliver valid stories to communities, making significant changes in people ’s perceptions. For instance, thanks to the campaign named gender stereotype elimination conducted by Unilever, about 90% of men admitted that they had changed their minds related to the negativity of gender bias that might have a positive impact on their behaviours towards gender roles. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that advertisement impacts negatively on communities’ perspectives such as causing overconsumption or self-loathing, I believe it create positive aspects related to today’s issues. It is estimated that if advertising is regulated more strictly and able to convey meaningful messages, it will be recognized by an open-minded society. Negative: overconsumption: advetisement -> using seductive elements in content and algorithm targeting to people tending to be intersted with this products -> high frequency -> make people change minds even they actually do not need them. Detrimental impacts on people security: exploiting celebrities who have unrealistic beauty -> consumers feel insecure about themselves