In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause? suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of the ageing populations.

In most nations around the globe, the ageing individuals’ life expectancy rate has gone up. In this, essay I will discuss some of the challenges this brings and suggest some solutions to reduce the consequences. The obvious loss from this is that it impacts the progress of society. As an increasing proportion of the country’s resources end up being dedicated to caring for the elderly, much-needed funds are taken away from other areas of the society such as schooling and security. Another issue is that there are inevitably challenges that will arise for the individual. One of these is that ongoing diseases such as diabetes and Alzheimer’s. These sicknesses not only make it difficult to enjoy normal life but also put a great strain on other members of the family who may have to bear the burden of care physically and mentally. Several possible steps can be taken to adapt to this new reality. The most important one is to increase the age of retirement. To elucidate, rather than forcing people to stop working at the age of sixty, which could eventually place them in difficult financial situations, healthy people should be encouraged to work longer. This means more taxes would be paid, and less money flows out into pensions. A second simple step would be to prioritize preventive healthcare. In other words, governments should subsidise exercise programs, and nutrition classes in order to keep elderly people, active members, for longer periods. Therefore, on the basis of all the discussion till now as well as going by my personal experiences, One thing I would like to state finally is that only increasing the retirement age and proving access to early health services are two ways authorities can work to reduce the pressure of ageing population.