Freshwater has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of this increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Despite the limited resources, demand for drinking water is on the rise around the world. If immediate and serious measures are not taken to tackle this scourge, the consequences would be unimaginable. However, in order to find the right remedies, firstly, the real reasons must be unearthed. There are several reasons responsible for this growing requirement. The most important reason for this issue is soaring population numbers. To elucidate, the number of lakes and ponds remained the same for the last two decades whereas, the population around the globe has risen exponentially; resulting in unprecedented need. Last, but far from least, establishing industries close to riverbanks is also one of the main culprits. These factories not only use a large amount of water with chemicals in the manufacturing processes but also discharges the waste into lakes which renders the water useless for human consumption. Firstly, I firmly believe that implementing small changes to an individual’s lifestyle will assist in reducing the problems. To illustrate, some of the simple steps to save water are to take short showers, conduct regular checks around the house for leaks, and water the plants only when necessary. These preventive measures will be effective in reducing this exploding necessity. Finally, authorities should run awareness programs among the communities to teach them how to save water supplies and introduce harsher penalties for excessive water usage are two of the ways to tackle this setback. In conclusion, we are running out of the aquatic supplies at an alarming rate. Therefore, executing some changes at an individual level and some policy refinements at government level will help curb this issue. However, if these issues are left untreated there will be risk of exhausting all the water supplies in the near future.