facebook represents a very powerful medium of influence over large populations. There are many positive aspects of facebook. however many people feel that it is doing irreparable harm. to what extent do you agree with the statement? what do you think should be done to minimize the negative aspects of facebook

Facebook provides a way to keep in touch with family and friends. While this is a positive aspect to socialise, some argue that Facebook also creates a negative influence on people's lives. I completely agree with this view as online social networking is a worldwide distraction and arise a sense of insecurity in users. To reduce the potential risks of using Facebook, this essay will offer some suggestions. Firstly, a significant amount of time is generally wasted by people due to their obsession with Facebook. To illustrate, as this site provides different ways to connect such as messaging, audio and video calls, individuals opt for a sedentary lifestyle without doing productive. Consequently, it is proven that Facebook is a widespread distraction. Secondly, when one checks others’ posts assume that their lives are perfect, thereby arising insecurities. For instance, many are witnessing cyberbullying on Facebook due to their disbelief in themselves in form of race, appearances and other social aspects. Therefore, the new generation should give less importance to Facebook and verify their virtual relationships on it for understanding the reality of this site. There are some preventive measures to implement or control the side effects of using Facebook. The one considerable solution would be less time spent on Facebook. In the illustration, parents can supervise and restrict their children from wasting their free time on Facebook. By doing so, the young generation can utilise their time more progressively such as studying or physical fun activities. Another solution is building awareness in users about unrealistic standards of social media platforms. For example, on Facebook, fake filters are used to enhance beauty standards and there are no moderators who can check the conversations between people. Thus, people can convey anything on this site without any legal restrictions which could be threatening or harmful to society. To summarize, Facebook causes a distraction in users and insecurities as they compare them with others. To curb this problem, it is suggested that parents need to bring boundaries to the usage of Facebook in their children’s lives; however, others must be aware of the artificial side of this social media ground.