Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people hold the view that children should be given the freedom to decide on their own, while other people demonstrate that children may become selfish if too many things can be decided on their own. In my opinion, children should be given some level of freedom to make their own decisions, but they should be limited to using their decision rights. It is reasonable for some people to demonstrate that children's liberty of making their own decisions should be guaranteed. Children can benefit from making some small decisions on their own. For example, if children spend the money they saved on some purchases on their own, they may less likely to waste money in the future, for they know how hard they save their money. Besides, if they are encouraged to decide on their own, they can spend more time on interesting things, which may help them feel happier and less stressed. However, some negative results could arise when children can decide all things in their daily lives. Children may become severely selfish if they can make all their own choices, for they get everything very easily. For example, if children can decide everything in their daily life, they will buy every toy they desire without making an effort. They may become severely selfish after growing up and only follow their own interests, for they get everything easily when they are young. They are not willing to make a sacrifice when they are in a team, or they may argue with their boss when they are required to work overtime, which makes them hard to adapt the society. In conclusion, children can benefit from making their own decision, while the usage of their decision rights should be limited.