SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT PARENTS HAVE THE MOST IMPORTANT ROLE IN A CHILD'S DEVELOPMENT . HOWEVER, OTHERS ARGUE THAT OTHER FACTORS LIKE TV OR FRIENDS HAVE THE MOST SIGNIFICANT INFLUENCE.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that children are the backbone of the society. Therefore, the older generations should provide children with better education system to maintain an educated society. However, with the agreeable order of the day, it cannot be denied that televisions and the ways children interact with each other affect their development. Despite that, parents still hold the biggest influence on their children's development. I would discuss both arguments further. Childhood is the most important part of children's lives as it is a period where they could learn how to regulate their emotions, react to the situations they are facing, and learn social cues. Furthermore, parents have the biggest role as their children's first teacher in their lives. Subsequently, it is essential for parents to know their children's personalities and preferences to know how to build good relationships with them. For instance, children could learn empathy from their parents. Parents could teach their children how to be empathetic and less selfish by giving them toys that are meant to be played with their friends. Thus, children will learn how to share with others and this would give positive impact to their overall development. In contrary to that, some people believe that other external factors can affect children's development as much as their parents ' influence. Those factors are the rapid growth of television programs and their children's circle of friends. These days televisions are often packed with uncensored programs such as television series which have violent acts, substance abuse, and nudity. These are not suitable for children to watch without parental guidance because children could easily learn through the materials that they watch for entertainment. Additionally, when parents are not aware of their children's peer groups, it would potentially be harmful for them. Harms can come from the social interactions that these children experience in their daily lives. I firmly believe that parents have the biggest influence on their children's development especially in the early age. This is because parents are their children's first teachers in their lives. In conclusion, I think that positive characteristics should be taught to children during their childhood for them to learn how to regulate their emotions, be empathetic to others, and maintain good relationships with their family and friends.