In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

It is a well-known fact that turnovers of beauty goods are growing at an unprecedented rate globally owing to the huge celebrity endorsements. This essay will discuss the reasons and the effects these products have on health and the community. Firstly, there has been a desire to look younger and fairer for generations. Researchers in almost every culture have been trying to find ways to brighten the peel for centuries. Secondly, populations with dusky membranes were discriminated against in most parts of the world, causing inferiority complex and low self-esteem. Moreover, folks with a dark rind are valued less due orthodox mindset of community, family and friends. Finally, bombardments of the advertisements promoting skin glowing products create a perception of becoming important after using them. For example, certain commercials show individuals with darker sheath have low confidence and using the skin whitening cream, they become fair, and their confidence is boosted. This has caused a psychological desire to consume the commodities. Although this has resulted in ever-increasing turnovers, there has been an adverse impact on individuals’ health and on society. Various similar items are found to contain harmful chemicals including carcinogens, with after-effects ranging from rashes, and pimples to fatal cancers. For instance, my cousin got rashes when she listened to one of such publicity and used the brightening cream. In addition, surveys have found the impact on the association, where people who could not afford such merchandise were depressed and built shoddy attitudes toward the person who could afford it. In a nutshell, everyone wants to look sunnier and fresher, however, the product should be chosen after checking how safe it is to use. It is recommended to consume natural, plant-based produce.