Computer games and films containing violence are popular today. Some people think that these are harmful for our society and the government should ban them. Other argue that such games and films are fine for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, violent behaviours are prevalent in video games and movies. While a group of individuals presents the view that engaging in such entertainment is a great form of leisure, I strongly agree with those who believe that since these games and movies have several adverse effects on our community, they should be restricted by the government. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that such games and films can lead to an increase in the crime rate. Individuals, especially youngsters, can be easily influenced by such films and games; therefore, they are very likely to mimic the characters of movies and games and turn to criminal offences from an early age, without being aware of the consequences of their actions. In my opinion, encouraging aggressive behaviour, these movies definitely should be banned by the government. If the governments enforce new laws, it not only has positive effects on crime rate but also helps us create a compassionate society. On the other hand, another group claims that participating in these activities can be ideal for those who are in search of a cheap way to escape the fast pace of life, while spending some quality time with family members. They firmly insist that it is very economical to watch/play such movies / games compared with outdoor entertainment. However, I do not find this argument as convincing as it appears to be based on inaccurate information. According to recent research findings, producing action movies / games is nearly twice as expensive as other genres. Since this money is usually provided by the government and taxes, it can be a complete waste of resources, resulting in a deficit budget, that should be avoided. Were people aware, they would think twice before making the decision to engage in them. To conclude, in my view, video games and films that include violent behaviour should be limited by the government because they can reduce the crime rate, which can assist in making our community a better place to live. Moreover, manufacturing these games and films is not logical because they waste resources.