To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The growth of people required more food consumption, insects intakes might be one option for product development. In contrast, insects probably had some negative effects on the environment. In this essay, the disadvantages and advantages will be examined in each issue. In recent years, there are many types of food that have been available in the grocery or shopping areas. Insects are the one option of superfood and contained many nutritions. First and foremost, there are some benefits to eating these insects which are related to the taste and the texture. Some arthropods have a crispy texture while a consumer has it. Another advantage is the price of the products, there is no funding for the farm system to nurture them. A further beneficial aspect is about the season of harvesting, many types of insects could be caught and they hatches in every period, such as the crickets lay their eggs almost every month. There are, however, some negative drawback of insects hunting, that is relevant to the food chain problem. If the insects were hunted in some rice field or agricultural area, the ecosystem would be affected. The additional negative effect is the chemical substances in the pesticides, which they might occasionally get from the food of insects that they eat. The last disadvantage is the lack of evidence base that could support the food supplement in any kind of insects and people probably get some poisons from other insects with improper preparation. To summarize, in my point of view, there are some advantages of insects consumption, nevertheless we need to focus more on the ecosystem issue. If we have adequate scientific support, insects might be one healthy food for protein supplements.