Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Information plays an important role in determining people's success in any field as it can help them to make an accurate decision. While some people argue that it is very crucial to keep the information for their own, I side with those who feel that some information gives more benefits when they are shared with the public for some reasons. On the one hand, sharing information is not an option because it is essential to protect people’s privacy. Firstly, the opponent companies can easily copy one company’s idea based on the information they obtained, which leads to their innovation or products being hijacked. Therefore, it is very vital for them to be aware of what needs to be shared and what needs to be kept as secrets. Secondly, information might contain something more valuable than gold as it can keep some institution become unique by owning that information. For instance, the great beverages company, Coca Cola with their receipt on producing soda drinks has their own unique because they are the only ones who own the information of producing the beverages. On the other hand, sharing information without limit can help advance in the world of scientific research, business and education. Firstly, by getting more information, institutions can make the right decision easily because before they make a final plan, they have already analyzed the information, got from the public. Doing this can help institutions not only to work more effectively but also to save more money because doing other research to gain information takes time and costs funding. Furthermore, Interchangeable information between two institutions can lead to collaboration, which resulted them growing rapidly. In contrast, most institution that operates solely face more difficulty to expand. To sum up, securing information might prevent an institution’s ideas from being copied by others and help them become unique, and publishing information can help them to draw an accurate decision and lead to more collaborations. Thus, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the benefits of sharing information overshadow the drawbacks.