People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? what are the effects of this?

People sleep less than they did many years ago. This is because of the increasing stress and effects of the digital age. However, this phenomenon has serious impact on individuals and societies. To begin with, the competitive and hectic lifestyles of the modern time require us to be more attentive than ever before. Nowadays, people are in a constant race to fulfill their basic needs and achieve their goals, as a result, they get even less time to sleep. Furthermore, the computer era has surrounded us with a huge number of screens which have a major effect on our conscious brains. Studies have shown that the blue light of computers, television, and mobile screens makes the brain more awake and prevents it from falling asleep. On the other hand, unfortunately, this trend has a negative impact on the well-being of communities. For instance, less sleeping hours can cause tiredness, depression and lack of concentration as well as many health problem such as obesity, diabetes, and high blood pressure. All these issues will eventually result in a weak society with low productivity. Thus sufficient sleep is vital for individuals. In conclusion, after looking at why people sleep less, and what problems this cause, it is hoped that government should educate the public about the importance of getting adequate sleep.