At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, the media has a significant impact on the way people live their lives. This essay will discuss how the media shapes how people think about world events and suggests that this is a negative development because it endangers democracy. A major impact of the media is that it affects how people interpret things happening in the world. This is because people believe at the face value and do not think critically, which means they believe in what they hear or read in the media. As a result, they have a distorted view of key issues. For example, most UK news channels represent refugees as migrants so people view them as they were looking to overrun the UK and take advantage of the prosperous economy of the UK, but in reality, these people came from war-torn countries. The government and corporations influence the media and get them to spin a narrative that suits their agenda which is dangerous for our democracy. This is to say that our media must be free from any influence otherwise our democracy will be in peril. For instance, it is widely known that certain news channels always tell a lie about the democratic party and seek to support the republic party so it is extremely upsetting when you know that more than tens of millions of people tune in to networks every day. In conclusion, the media affects our view of life by telling us what to think, and this is a negative development because unless people make their own minds rather than blindly believing whatever they read or hear, democracy is threatened.