Some people think there should be free healthcare for all people, but others disagree. Discuss both sides.

Since 1978 when the World Health Organization declared that health is a human right, our society has been debating if governments should implement universal health systems. While some people affirm that this type of healthcare system should be expanded across the globe, others believe that free healthcare is not a government obligation. One could argue that governments will not be able to afford free healthcare schemes, particularly in countries that are facing an ageing population. Indeed, the elderly usually require more healthcare needs than the younger population. Moreover, many people also believe that even if the state provided free-of-charge health services, those would not be good as the private ones, as those healthcare corporations have a more generous budget compared to federal budgets. For example, in my home country, it is common that private hospitals to have cutting-edge technology to diagnose diseases. Although I agree that health services might be costly, I strongly believe that health services should be free and supported by states and not by private companies. Not only well-being is a human right, but also it is not a commodity that private corporations can profit from it. What is the point of having the latest technology available for a small part of the population, while a huge part of our community is dying without any assistance? Furthermore, by improving the access to health services we improve our economy. Simply, because with better healthcare services, fewer individuals will develop chronic conditions and long-term disabilities during their lifetime. Therefore, we will have more active members in our society that are fit to work. In a nutshell, some people may think that a universal health system is a utopic dream. However, under no circumstance, should we give up fighting for its implementation, as well-being is an inherent right of our society.