Some people believe that children are given too much free time.They feel that this time should be used to do more school time. How do you think children should spend their free time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that children should have less free time or this time must utilize at school. I do not agree with this notion because leisure time is necessary for relaxing one’s mind and body. Doing something productive in extra time of the day such as helping others, or playing outdoor games, can support children ’s overall development. In this competitive world, the young generation needs some time for themselves to relax in their own ways after school. The first reason behind such an opinion is the utilisation of such time can turn to learn to do productive without compulsion. To illustrate, parents can motivate their children to share household responsibilities with them in after school hours such as doing dishes, cleaning, or laundry at home. By doing so, youngsters can realize the sense of responsibility and importance of helping others which leads them to learn social values like sharing, cooperation, and self-discipline; thereby increasing social bondings. In addition, leisure time provides an opportunity for children to build interests or hobbies for relieving stress and for putting down the burdens of study. In other words, young people can learn creative art things such as painting, singing, or dancing, or they can play indoor or outdoor games such as chess, or badminton, during their after-school time. It benefits their concentration and empowers them physically, emotionally and mentally. This is because they can express their emotions through art and build physical stamina by playing games. Consequently, these fun activities are important for inculcating brainstorming skills in them which help in their study. In conclusion, children can have enough free time for learning many new skills and abilities. Utilizing their leisure time for fun activities or helping others enables them to understand the importance of social values and it is compulsory for their overall progress.