The tendency of people to imitate each other is evident in the popularity of fashionable clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is, nowadays, widely contended that individuals are inclined to emulate others in search of gaining traction and they often express it by buying trending fashion wear and customer commodities. I completely agree with the statement and in this essay, I will explain the reasons before reaching the conclusion. To begin with, the obvious reason for mimicking other people’s attire is largely due to their idols. As an increasing proportion of brands are hiring modern-day celebrities to endorse their latest clothing lines, thus, fans think that by wearing their fashion products gives them popularity in society. In the United States, for instance, most of the fashion apparel promoted by famous Hollywood actors not only flying off the shelves but also making companies a lot of money. Besides impersonating others in attire, a large portion of the crowd is inclined to use the same goods. This phenomenon gained traction recently, due to the evolution of the internet. To elaborate, previously most members of the society relied on the opinion of the shop owner or the salesperson before buying the product, however, because of the easy broadband access people have unlimited access to information and the buying decisions are based on their favourite influencers. Let us take an example of mobile phones where most of the potential customers are often relying on their favourite influencer’s review before buying the product. In conclusion, I agree that most fashion-related items and other merchandise have gained traction due to the tendency of copying others. Moreover, this movement created a large number of brands in the market which increased competition.