It is generally believed that the Internet is an excellent means of communication but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whereas Internet has been an outstanding tool of communication, a new debate has emerged as regards whether it is the best option for people to gain information. The following paragraphs will discuss both concerns and elaborate on my personal opinion. Modern technology has brought numerous conveniences to human beings’ communication, which was previously costly and time-consuming. Letters used to be the major tool for people to transmit. However, such a method relies on substantial manpower and time, which could inevitably lead to the success of delivery and time schedule becoming unpredictable. Nowadays, people could communicate within seconds through their exquisite mobile devices, and this phenomenon has crowned the Internet the dominator in the field of communication. The Internet has also brought some negative impacts to our society while information is being rapidly transmitted. For instance, in order to make their news exclusive, some companies and reporters would launch unexamined reports on the Internet, which ultimately damaged the credibility of the virtual world. Moreover, if one, who is lack judgment, such as teenagers or juveniles, viewed those exaggerated reports, it could pose threats to their mental and physical health. Violence, for example, has been widely reported in order to seize people’s attention; however, it could eventually paralyse our attitude to those devastating stories and believe it is normal. Hence, many heartbreaking tragedies have been conducted due to such phenomenon above. From my perspective, the usage of the Internet should exist with certain supporting measures. Facilitated censorship of information can serve as an effective way to create a less chaotic virtual world. Secondly, children and students should be cultivated to develop an awareness of the media and generate the ability for critical thinking. By way of conclusion, anything is a double-edged sword, and the internet is no exception. I firmly believe that wise users can maximize the pros and minimize the cons of the usage of the Internet.