Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express their thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is an essential element in society that can express citizens’ views and opinions to arouse people ’s concern about some issues. Some people argue that total freedom should be given to artists to express their views and opinions, whereas some people believe that the freedom of artists should be restricted. I agree with the statement that there should have total freedom for artists to voice their opinions with my explanations below and providing examples to support my views. To commence with, freedom is a human right for everyone. No government has a right to affect our speech freedom and press freedom. The aim of artists in creating artwork is to take a lead to raise our concerns about some social problems such as political and environmental problems and then affect governmental policies to improve our lives and protect our rights. If the freedom of artists is limited, the information of news and social issues cannot be spread to us. For example, Hong Kong people have realized how the Chinese government worsen our traditional cultures and policies in 2019 because of numerous posters with detailed information on social media. Therefore, Hong Kong has been a significant change since 2019. Artists involve films, songs, and paintings that can connect people in the same way to share joy and depression. Arts can represent our feelings since sometimes we cannot voice our views clearly. For instance, a song called revolution of Hong Kong had created in 2019 which represented the frustration of Hong Kong people and connected our hearts successfully. In conclusion, in order to enhance citizens’ sense of participation in society, no restriction on artists freedom should be set.