Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Most products which are currently produced include an overwhelming amount of sugar which might prevent people from staying healthy. Recently, the tendency of increasing prices on such types of food has become more appealing to governments throughout the world. I totally agree with that statement and this essay will highlight the main reasons for my agreement. Firstly, having been raised the price of a sugary item is likely to draw attention to the amount of the sweet substance in each one. The majority of customers are not aware of how much carbohydrate is in the products they purchase every day since they do not read the information on the labels. The higher price might make them examine the label in order to understand an increase. Consequently, realising the danger of the purchase to their health, people can be discouraged from buying the product and choose another one with a lower level of sugar in it. Secondly, money has always been a good way to control people's decisions. If an item has started to cost more, the likelihood that a customer will not purchase it becomes higher as people tend to be frugal sometimes. Having noticed an increased price, some people can stop buying those items so that they are able to spend it on healthier types of food such as vegetables or fruit. To conclude, I am convinced that rising prices on sugary products might lead to health benefits and encourage people to reduce the number of carbohydrates they consume. Not only does it raise awareness of carbohydrate content in each product, but also is likely to help them to decide on more beneficial food items for their health.