In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is a sacred union where each individual vows to help each other in all ways. Nowadays, few people are debating that husband and wife are responsible to earn for the needs of the family. In this essay, I will discuss why I strongly agree that it is both parties' responsibility to work for the family instead of just depending on one. The main benefit of having two people earning in a household is that it will generate extra income that will give more advantages to the family in the future, whereas if only one person is working their financial status will only be limited. For instance, if the family will grow and have children, they will be able to provide beyond what they need especially for their educational expenditures. Also, if both spouses are earning, they can spend themselves too for their own needs and wants without compromising any funds allocated for the family. Clearly, having additional monetary support from two people can lessen the burden of their future plans and provide for themselves will not be a problem as well. Secondly, the positive side of having both partners get a career is that it will save the family from emergencies. For example, if one of them will, unfortunately, loses their job, it will affect them financially but at least the support of the other is still there which can cover their financial needs for a certain period of time while the person is searching for another opportunity. Therefore, it is essential to have two sources of income to save the family from unforeseen circumstances. In conclusion, this essay elaborates on the importance of each spouse’s responsibility to earn a living in order to provide for the family. In my own opinion, I strongly agree that generating additional monetary support can greatly support the future needs of marriage,especially when growing a family. Also, it can even save them from unfortunate situations that might occur.