Due to poorer countries experiencing a ‘brain drain’, they are seeing many professionals, such as doctors and teachers, leaving to work in more developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can be suggested to deal with this situation?

Globally, the highly skilled are migrating to rich countries for a better quality of life, leaving the developing nations at a loss. In this essay, I will discuss the issues that may arise from this situation and the measures that can be done to solve them. There are multiple issues arising from losing professional workers in the country. Firstly, there will be a reduced number of services from qualified employees; for example, hospitals will lack qualified healthcare workers, leading to a longer waiting time for patients needing urgent medical treatment. Hence, people will lose out on having their basic needs met. Moreover, there will be difficulty in expanding the economy due to a shortage of highly skilled employees. This will contribute to slower growth and less income tax from the qualified workers. It can also reduce the confidence of foreign investors in investing in the country. Less foreign investments mean fewer work opportunities and developments. Fortunately, there are solutions to the problems above. To begin with, employers can improve incentives for professionals to remain in the country. This includes an attractive salary and benefits. On top of that, the government should practise better governance to encourage the high-skilled workers in having interests to stay, such as better education, better facilities, political stability, secured community and transparency. With better governance, people would be less inclined to leave. In conclusion, losing high-skilled workers is a big loss, especially to poor countries. I believe, steps to prevent it should be taken seriously or else it could lead to the collapse of the national economy and the quality of life of its people.