Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions

It is a well-known fact that juvenile felonies have increased at an alarming rate in major cities across the world due to many reasons such as changed family frameworks. This essay will discuss possible causes and answers to this issue. Firstly, parents are not able to spend much time with their wards because of long working hours, which may lead to failure of imbibing good values in the child. For example, kids are sent to creche or are looked after by maids, which is different from how a mother or a father would look after them. Secondly, violence and other non-appropriate content on television and other media are aired more vividly than ever before. Elder monitoring is required to filter out non-desired matters. For instance, recently the trend has shifted towards glamorising the villains and it is hard to distinguish between right and wrong for adolescents. The gravity of these crimes is high as illustrated by the fact that teenagers were involved in some of the shootings that happened in the United States. This issue can be addressed by involvement from parents and school. To begin with, parents should plan deliberate quality time with the youngsters and become role models for them and follow good habits. Moreover, grandparents staying with family would help monitor along with teaching life lessons. Furthermore, schools need to conduct workshops on personality development as well as involve the students in community activities to build morality, awareness and responsibility towards society. In a nutshell, youths are the bright futures for any nation and need to be looked after carefully. Wrongdoings by the new generation can be reduced by good character building and awareness of social responsibilities.