Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatment instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a Positive or a negative development?

Orthodox medicines are losing their popularity. In this contemporary era, the majority of individuals with health challenges are opting for traditional medicines rather than visiting their physician. I believe this practice is causing problems to people's health which will be discussed in this essay. To begin, it is proven that most herbal medicines are not scientifically proven. What this means is that a vast number of individuals selling herbs are illiterate in that they know nothing about the formulation of a particular leaf. For instance, a study carried out in Nigeria about sellers' ideas on scientific proof of herbs they are making showed that 80% of them have no idea except for the fact they inherited a particular book that contained a method of drug mixture. Thus, it is pivotal to understand the chemical reactions of a leaf and how effective it is. Furthermore, Traditional medicines could result in health problems apart from the initial challenge. The majority of these medicines cause renal disease. As an illustration, a study on the cause of kidney disease in India in the year 2020 revealed that 90% of renal problem was a result of herbal drugs. This was because of low knowledge among the traditionalist about the renal system. Hence, an adequate investigation should be done on herbs before selling. In conclusion, there are different reasons why people should continue their previous line of treatment with their doctors instead of going traditionally. Medicines must be proven scientifically before people's consumption.Moreso, another health issue could emerge if care is not taken because of the herbalist's low sense of understanding of the human body system. It is recommended that the proper checks should be done on conventional medicines. In addition, it is imperative to know the chemical reaction of a plant and its effectiveness.