Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on society. Others deny that these have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

My opinion about violence on television and in computer games is quite strong. I think it has a damaging effect on society, even more on young children. Nowadays, television and computer games have become more popular in comparison to 20 years ago because of technological development. Therefore, program makers and game designers have a larger audience to show violence in these programs of games. In general, people learn from what they hear and see. To have something or someone as a role model can result in a different behaviour because most people are influenceable. If they see a ‘cool’ and strong man being violent on television or in a game, they might start behaving like that. Moreover, games in which murder and theft is the goal are more popular in the last 10 years and criminality and violence increased as well. However, the denial of people saying that it does not affect people ’s behaviour might come from the ones who play those games and watch violence on television. My opinion is that showing this kind of content on television is a wrong way of entertaining people. In addition, designing games where individuals have to behave violently to get more points or win a game could result in the same behaviour in real life. And that is something to avoid regarding keeping society safe. In conclusion, I think violence on television and in games do have a dramatic effect on society. People should not have access to such horrible videos and games.